How Cool is Alcohol?

4 Comments

Here are some great presentations on the Effects of Alcohol on the Human Body and Soul. To view the slides in full view doubleclick the SlideShare logo.

Energy Drinks and Alcohol Marin Institute Presentation

Slideshow Transcript

Slide 1: Michele Simon, JD, MPH James Mosher, JD Marin Institute Pacific Institute for Research and Evaluation

Slide 2: FORMULA FOR GETTING KIDS HOOKED START WITH SUGARY SOFT DRINKS ↓ ADD CAFFIENE ENERGY DRINKS ↓ ADD ALCOHOL ALCOHOLIC ENERGY DRINKS

Slide 3: Three-point-plan for targeting youth 1) create brand confusion with nonalcoholic versions 2) provide a cheap alternative to mixing energy drinks with alcohol 3) deploy youth-friendly grassroots and viral marketing

Slide 4: Exploding Popularity of Energy Drinks • 500 new energy drink products introduced worldwide in 2006 • Energy drink sales = $3.2 billion • 31 percent of 12- to 17-year-olds are regular consumers v. 22 percent of 25- to 34-year-olds — Mintel Group

Slide 5: The Energy Drink Market: Youth Driven • One in three teens are likely to use energy drinks compared to one in ten adults. • Youth consumption is rapidly increasing. • Energy drinks help teens augment their rebellious image—legally.

Slide 6: Youth/Adult Energy Drink Consumers 35% 30% 25% 20% Youth (12-17) 15% Adults (18+) 10% 5% 0% Regular Heavy Users Users (10+/month)

Slide 7: Brand Confusion Which Contain Alcohol?

Alcohol & Drug Abuse

Slideshow Transcript

Slide 1: Alcohol and Drug Abuse Diabetes & Heart Care Clinic Dr.R.Ravindranath M.D. Consultant in Cardiac & Diabetic Care H2, Turnbulls Road , 1st Cross street, On Chamiers road (Next to Canara Bank) Nandanam, Chennai – 600 035 Phone: Clinic 24355368 Residence 42112244 Mobile 9381047102

Slide 2: Alcohol Alcoholic drinks have been prepared and drunk for thousands of years, and the problems that can accompany excess alcohol intake have undoubtedly been around just as long.  Alcohol (Arabic al-kuhul), term applied to members of a group of chemical compounds and, in popular usage, to the specific compound ethyl alcohol, or ethanol.  The Arabic word denotes kohl, a fine powder of antimony used as an eye makeup.  The word alcohol originally denoted any fine powder; the alchemists of medieval Europe later applied it to essences obtained by distillation, and this led to the current usage.

Slide 3: Types of Alcohol By destructive distillation of Methyl (wood Solvent for fats, oils, resins, nitrocellulose. wood. Also by synthesis alcohol, Manufacture of dyes, formaldehyde, from hydrogen and carbon methanol antifreeze solutions, special fuels, monoxide under high ) plastics. pressure. By fermentation of sugar, Solvent for products such as lacquers, paints, starch, or waste sulfite Ethyl (grain liquor. Synthesis from varnishes, glues, pharmaceuticals, alcohol, explosives. Also as ‘building block’ in ethylene or acetylene. ethanol) making high-molecular-weight chemicals. Direct hydration of ethylene. By hydration of propylene from Isopropyl Solvent for oils, gums, alkaloids, resins. cracked gases. Also as by- (isopropa Making acetone, soap, antiseptic product of certain nol) solutions. fermentation processes. Solvent for lacquers, resins, coatings, films, As a coproduct of air oxidation waxes. Also as brake fluid, in Normal propyl of propane and butane manufacture of propionic acid, mixtures. plasticizers. By fermentation of starch or Solvent for nitrocellulose, ethyl cellulose, Butyl (n- sugar. Also by synthesis, lacquer, urea-formaldehyde, urea- using ethyl alcohol or melamine plastics. Diluent of hydraulic butanol) acetylene. fluids, extractant of drugs.

Alcohol and Young People

Slideshow Transcript

Slide 1: Alcohol and Young People Andrew Brown Coordinator Drug Education Forum

Slide 2: The following charts have been developed using figures from Smoking, drinking and drug use among young people in England in 2006, Information Centre 2007 CONTEXT

Slide 3: Proportion of pupils who had ever had an alcoholic drink

Slide 4: Proportion of pupils who had drunk alcohol in the last week

Slide 5: Proportion of pupils who had drunk alcohol in the last week, by age

Slide 6: Proportion of pupils who drank alcohol in the last week

Slide 7: Proportion of boys who drank alcohol in the last week

Slide 8: Proportion of girls who drank alcohol in the last week

Slide 9: Proportion of pupils who drank alcohol in the last week, by sex and age

Alcohol and the Family

Slideshow Transcript

Two middle school students present their Health Report using Storytelling and some Hyperlinks

Slide 1: Papa Mama Jr.

Slide 2: Part one • Once upon a time, in a place where everyone smiles, lived a normal family. • With a PAPA, a MAMA, and a JR. (son) The perfect family, or so one would think….

Slide 3: Part two • But they weren’t; PAPA and MAMA drank way too much and JR got stuck in the middle of all of it. ur Not again d yo an You drinks I thi MAR nk we’re y k wea the wa TINI S!! T out of is EER o go Last glass his is th B T e ahhh !!

Slide 4: Part three • One day, as JR was on his way to school, he heard his parent’s fighting again. You’re al ways me Oh, no not again! ssing up my lif g as e; why d I wish they would ve as lon on’t lea you just Fine, I’ll you. leave and stop fighting! ay from Go I am aw Away This always happens OU!! I HATE Y Forever!! when they drink too ! much **sighs**

Slide 5: Part four • JR is used to his parents fighting, but sometimes they go too far and his PAPA will hit his MAMA or they both might hit him. Waaaaaaaaaaaa This is what you get! We wish we Aaaaaaaaaaaa never had a child like you. . . Aaaaaaaaaaaa We hate you!! Help!

Slide 6: Part five • JR would not let anyone near him until one day when his teacher Ms.Smiley asked what was up. What’s wrong JR.. You can trust me I won’t tell anyone, teachers Well okay I guess I can trust you; it’s honor! My parents……..

Dangers of Alcohol

Slideshow Transcript

Slideshow transcript

Slide 1: alcohol by: Kaitlynn H. Period and Mr. Gammill

Slide 2: alcohol abuse • parental alcohol abuse may be associated with the physical or sexual abuse of children. • The experience of being abused as a child may increase a person’s risk for alcohol-related problems as an adult. • May lead to antisocial behavior; and psychological problems.

Slide 3: short-term effects of alcohol • chemicals affect mucosal lining, tongue, gums, and throat • brain becomes less able to control the body • alcohol causes the heart to beat faster and the blood vessels to widen

Slide 4: alcohol content of beverages • beer 5% alcohol • wine 12-15% alcohol • vodka or whiskey 40% alcohol

Slide 5: alcohol and the individual • speed. Drinking a lot in a short amount of time causes the alcohol to remain in the bloodstream longer • quantity. The metabolism of alcohol takes place at a fairly constant rate • food. A person who has eaten recently has food in the stomach, this slows down the passing of alcohol into the blood stream

Physiology of Addiction by Carl Christensen

Slideshow Transcript

Slide 1: Physiology of Addiction Carl Christensen, MD PhD Dawn Farm Education Series October 25, 2007

Slide 2: History: Tommy Walker Tommy Walker has been sent to you for  addiction evaluation.  He began drinking when he was 13.  His mother also admits to drinking during her pregnancy with him.  When he was born, he was small, irritable and was “slow to grow” Dawn Farm Education Series Oct 25, 2007 2

Slide 3: Neuroplasticity/Neurotoxicity Neuro = brain   Plasticity = change  toxicity = damage  Exposure to drugs and alcohol in the womb can cause permanent damage  Most extreme example: Fetal Alcohol Syndrome (FAS) Dawn Farm Education Series Oct 25, 2007

Slide 4: FAS Dawn Farm Education Series Oct 25, 2007

Slide 5: Fetal Alcohol Syndrome Dawn Farm Education Series Oct 25, 2007

The Wooden Bowl – Life Lessons

Leave a comment

The Wooden Bowl

I guarantee you will remember the tale of the Wooden Bowl tomorrow, a week from now, a month from now, a year from now.

A frail old man went to live with his son, daughter-in-law, and four-year old grandson. The old man’s hands trembled, his eyesight was blurred, and his step faltered. The family ate together at the table.

But the elderly grandfather’s shaky hands and failing sight made eating difficult. Peas rolled off his spoon onto the floor. When he grasped the glass, milk spilled on the tablecloth.

The son and daughter-in-law became irritated with the mess. ‘We must do something about father,’ said the son. ‘I’ve had enough of his spilled milk, noisy eating, and food on the floor.’

So the husband and wife set a small table in the corner. There, Grandfather ate alone while the rest of the family enjoyed dinner. Since Grandfather had broken a dish or two, his food was served in a wooden bowl!

When the family glanced in Grandfather’s direction, sometime he had a tear in his eye as he sat alone. Still, the only words the couple had for him were sharp admonitions when he dropped a fork or spilled food.

The four-year-old watched it all in silence. One evening before supper, the father noticed his son playing with wood scraps on the floor. He asked the child sweetly, ‘What are you making?’

Just as sweetly, the boy responded, ‘Oh, I am making a little bowl for you and Mama to eat your food in when I grow up.’ The four-year-old smiled and went back to work .

The words so struck the parents so that they were speechless. Then tears started to stream down their cheeks. Though no word was spoken, both knew what must be done. That evening the husband took Grandfather’s hand and gently led him back to the family table. For the remainder of his days he ate every meal with the family. And for some reason, neither husband nor wife seemed to care any longer when a fork was dropped, milk spilled, or the tablecloth soiled.

On a positive note, I’ve learned that, no matter what happens, how bad it seems today, life does go on, and it will be better tomorrow.

I’ve learned that you can tell a lot about a person by the way he/she handles four things: a rainy day, the elderly, lost luggage, and tangled Christmas tree lights.

I’ve learned that, regardless of your relationship with your parents, you’ll miss them when they’re gone from your life.

I’ve learned that making a ‘living’ is not the same thing as making a ‘life..’

I’ve learned that life sometimes gives you a second chance.

I’ve learned that you shouldn’t go through life with a catcher’s mitt on both hands. You need to be able to throw something back.

I’ve learned that if you pursue happiness, it will elude you. But if you focus on your family, your friends, the needs of others, your work and doing the very best you can, happiness will find you.

I’ve learned that whenever I decide something with an open heart, I usually make the right decision.

I’ve learned that even when I have pains, I don’t have to be one.

I’ve learned that every day, you should reach out and touch someone.

People love that human touch – holding hands, a warm hug, or just a friendly pat on the back.

I’ve learned that I still have a lot to learn.!

I’ve learned that you should pass this on to everyone you care about.

I just did

Jerome Kerviel Testimony Transcript – French Police

Leave a comment

Transcript: Interrogation of Jérôme Kerviel

Wednesday, January 30, 2008

French financial police have questioned Jérôme Kerviel, the trader whom Société Générale says lost billions in unauthorized trading bets using its money, at length about his role in the alleged fraud. Following are translations, by the International Herald Tribune, of verbatim excerpts published in Thursday editions of Le Monde, a leading French daily, from the verbal interrogation, which took place in six interviews from Saturday through Monday.His position within the bank JÉRÔME KERVIEL: I was hired by Société Générale in August 2000, in charge of the middle-office…. During the second half of 2004, I was assigned to be assistant to a desk…. Since I was on the same row of desks as the traders, I became more and more interested in the trading activity…. At the beginning of 2005, I was transferred to trading on the desk….

When I was hired by Société Générale [in August 2000], my gross salary was about 35,000 a year plus variable bonuses…. For the year 2007, I haven’t yet been told of the amount of my gross variable yearly revenue,… I was asking for 600,000, they offered me 300,000. To this day, I have not received anything for 2007.

….I understood during my first interview in 2005 that I was far less considered than others because of my degree course and my professional and personal paths…. But I don’t take it personally, I assure you….

Admitting to fake trades. I do not formally question the facts that I am being blamed for. I admit having created fictitious operations, I admit the cancellation of fictitious operations; concerning the unauthorized stand I took on the futures, I am a little less affirmative. My mandate was clear: it consists in ensuring that the market-making of products…. presented no volatility: certificates, warrants, trackers…. It was about earning money for the bank only, and in no way to enrich myself. What is more debatable, I admit, are the ways used to achieve this.

When the coverup began. My first experience in this field goes back to 2005, I took a stand on Allianz stock, making the bet that the market would drop. It just so happens that shortly after the market drops following the London attacks, and there it was, a 500,000 jackpot. This time corresponds more or less to when I started as a trader at Société Générale. I then already have the idea of a deal to cover my position. I have mixed feelings about this because I am proud of the result and altogether surprised. It generates the desire to continue, there is a snowball effect.

….At the end of July [2007], the market snaps because of subprimes and the markets are shook up. My result goes up: 500 million, and I find myself in the same situation as before, in an even bigger way, and do not declare this result which doesn’t appear in the books of Société Générale. I hide this with a fictitious operation….

As of the 31st of December [2007], I no longer have a “pose” and my “mattress” [profits set aside] has gone up to 1.4 billion, still not declared to the bank. At this point, the situation is beyond me and I don’t know how to tell the bank about it, this represents unreported cash of 1.4 billion. So I decided not to declare this to the bank and to cover up this amount, I create an offsetting fictitious operation….

How he played the markets. At the beginning of 2008, I change my position to “long” [the status of a buyer] because I know that the market has evolved a lot, and I see the market coming back up in the next three months, and I am still to this day convinced that it’s going to bounce back up in the next three months…. [It] was only at the closing of the session of the 18th [January 2008] that I was negative. I then think that I will see the evolution of the market when I come back on Monday and count on the market rising on Tuesday. What I couldn’t assume is that Monday I would no longer be an employee of Société Générale.

….In November 2007, on intra-day successive operations, I went back and forth on the DAX [the German stock market index] and seeing it was juicy, took positions from coworkers’ automated machines at the same time and this everyone saw and knew. On that day alone, I made 600,000. My manager then wanted to know the reasons for my investment choices….

How he covered his tracks. Now for the bank, since I am not supposed to have earned this money, I reported a result of only 55 million…. I then provided fake evidence of the recording of these operations, i.e. fake e-mails. I created a fake e-mail with a function that allows me to reuse the heading of an e-mail that is sent to me and change the contents….

The techniques that I used are not sophisticated at all, in my opinion, any correctly executed inspection is able to detect these operations….

Red flags raised. I remain persuaded that they [his supervisors] were aware of these positions and by saying this I inform you of the existence of warnings that got to my hierarchy. In 2007, several questioning e-mails…. were sent to several of my coworkers in order to get explanations…. Another warning could have consisted in calculating the ratio between the ?55 million result that I reported in 2007 and the number of operations I processed. Two requests for information in November 2007, coming from Eurex in Germany, are sent to question the volume of operations I processed…. Following this investigation I am questioned…. and am able to justify myself. At the beginning of January 2008, I max out my credit limit…. I then receive questioning e-mails…. To justify myself, I then create a forged e-mail.

….The fact alone that I didn’t take any days off in 2007 [4 days] should have alerted my supervisors. It’s one of the elementary rules of internal control. A trader who doesn’t take any days off is a trader who doesn’t want to leave his book to another….

I was generating cash, so the signals weren’t that alarming. As long as we earn and it doesn’t show too much, as long as it’s convenient, no one says anything….

INVESTIGATOR: Did anyone comment on the 50 billion that you took during the first fifteen days of January?

A: I had a feeling the market was going to bounce back up.

Q: Caught in the gearing, how did you imagine you would be able to announce this without risking losing your salary?

A: I thought the simple fact of announcing a 1.4 billion profit would satisfy them.

Q:Without imagining the way they were covered up would result in a penalty/sanction?

A: How do you justify a penalty given to a trader who generates a positive result of 1.4 billion?

Q: Let’s suppose that your positions on the futures had been detected by Société Générale,… what would have been your defense?

A: My justifications would have been the same. The hope of the market turning over. However, I’ll say it again, from March to July my supervisors received a number of warnings that makes me think that the size of my stands was known.

Q: Why didn’t the checking services try to stop you?

A: It was in their interest to let me make money….

In the event that anything was detected during this period the whole team would have been fired. Including my higher-ups, one after the other. And that is what’s happening today. In both cases, it was in Société Générale interest to close its eyes. Whether I’m winning or losing….

No matter what, I was risking in one case just as in the other case losing my salary if my commitments were detected. It certainly was in my interest to hide my commitments to my supervisors.

International Herald Tribune

International Herald Tribune

Remember Harvey Leroy “Lee” Atwater?

2 Comments

We should all remember Harvey Leroy “Lee” Atwater, the original Machiavellian Prince of American Politics. We should all remember his tactics as well as his later rejection of those same politics.

Before there was a Republican Karl Rove and a Democratic James Carville, there was the original Boogieman, Lee Atwater. In the summer of 2008, a movie is being released with that name and will examine the life and influence of Lee Atwater on US politics.

He was the founding father of the Attack Ads, the Negative Ads, and the general Smear and Slime based political campaign.

At the age of 39, he was at the top of the game, having led Ronald Reagan and George Bush Sr both to victory. By the age of 40, he was dead from a brain tumor. He had it all, and just as suddenly lost it all.

This the arrogant Lee Atwater.

And this is the more humble version.

lee atwater sick with tumor in bed

It was not until he was in the death throws that Lee Atwater had a epiphany.

In a February 1991 article for Life Magazine, Atwater wrote:

My illness helped me to see that what was missing in society is what was missing in me: a little heart, a lot of brotherhood. The ’80s were about acquiring — acquiring wealth, power, prestige. I know. I acquired more wealth, power, and prestige than most. But you can acquire all you want and still feel empty. What power wouldn’t I trade for a little more time with my family? What price wouldn’t I pay for an evening with friends? It took a deadly illness to put me eye to eye with that truth, but it is a truth that the country, caught up in its ruthless ambitions and moral decay, can learn on my dime. I don’t know who will lead us through the ’90s, but they must be made to speak to this spiritual vacuum at the heart of American society, this tumor of the soul.

There are lessons here for all of us to learn from…

Links;

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.